Flow

“Water . . . Beautiful it always is! You see it glistening in the dewdrop; you hear it singing in the summer rain; you see it sparkling in the ice gem when the trees seem loaded with rich jewels! . . . dancing in the hailstorm, leaping, foaming, dashing! See how it weaves a golden gauze for the setting sun, and a silvery tissue for the midnight moon! ~John Bartholomew Gough, (1817-1886)

flow brooklands

life shines through

Flow

A desert fascinates me, but I would not choose to  live there. I could never live so far from water.

Not for mere physical needs – though clean water is so essential to us we are much composed of it – but because, for me, the ready availability of natural, clean, flowing water is as intrinsic to who, what, and how I am as is the DNA that comprises the building blocks of my own body; or the emotions, thoughts and feelings that emanate from my brain or, if you like, my soul.

Clean, unpolluted natural water is life. It is inspiration, comport and peace. It is refreshment and recreation. It is fierce, dangerous and challenging. It is vital. Whether it be the languid beauty of a lake on a still warm morning, the rush of a sea wave to its own destruction upon the rocks, or the merry rill of a small bush stream, water completes me, restores and heals me and is at the very core of nature.

I searched, recently, for the tag “water” among all my photos stored on Flickr. Just mine, no-one else’s. But still the search returned thousands of hits, so much is it ingrained into the landscapes I travel through, the birds and plants I photograph.

These photos are a small selection of those thousands of images. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did when I took them.

The source

The source

Out of darkness into light

small beginnings

small beginnings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Pure water is the world’s first and foremost medicine” ~Slovakian Proverb

softly it grows

softly it grows 

Glacier blue

Glacier blue

A lake is the landscape’s most beautiful and expressive feature.

It is earth’s eye; looking into which the beholder measures the depth of his own nature

~ Henry David Thoreau

flow pearson

a restful pause after the gorge

contemplation

contemplation

men are at peace here

men are at peace here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“The lakes are something which you are unprepared for; they lie up so high, exposed to the light, and the forest is diminished to a fine fringe on their edges, with here and there a blue mountain, like amethyst jewels set around some jewel of the first water ~Henry David Thoreau

into the forest

into the forest

gathering at the bend

gathering at the bend

even nature reflects upon itself

even nature reflects upon itself

“What makes a river so restful to people is that it doesn’t have any doubt

   – it is sure to get where it is going, and it doesn’t want to go anywhere else.”

on its way again

on its way again

barriers no obstacle

barriers no obstacle

left behind

left behind

a forest feeds it

a forest feeds it

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Take a look at your natural river. What are you? Stop playing games with yourself. Where’s your river going? Are you riding with it? Or are you rowing against it? Don’t you see that there is no effort if you’re riding with your river?” Frederick (Carl) Frieseke

leaving the forest

leaving the forest

floods replenish the plains

floods replenish the plains

“Sometimes, if you stand on the bottom rail of a bridge and lean over to watch the river slipping slowly away beneath you, you will suddenly know everything there is to be known” – Winnie the Pooh

flow ashley creek

the sea is close now

civilised?

civilised?

Do I change like a river, widening and deepening, eddying back on myself sometimes, bursting my banks sometimes when there’s too much water, too much life in me, and sometimes dried up from lack of rain? Will the I that is me grow and widen and deepen? Or will I stagnate and become an arid riverbed? Will I allow people to dam me up and confine me to a wall so that I flow only where they want? Will I allow them to turn me into a canal to use for they own purposes? Or will I make sure I flow freely, coursing my way through the land and ploughing a valley of my own?” ― Aidan Chambers

beauty confined

beauty confined

“We can never have enough of nature. We must be refreshed by the sight of inexhaustible vigor, vast and titanic features, the sea-coast with its wrecks, the wilderness with its living and its decaying trees, the thunder-cloud, and the rain” – Henry David Thoreau

can't fence the sea no more than hold a wave upon the sand

can’t fence the sea no more than hold a wave upon the sand

the sea rushes to greet us

the sea rushes to greet us

“The sun was shining on the sea, Shining with all his might: He did his very best to make The billows smooth and bright – And this was very odd, because it was The middle of the night” – Lewis Carroll

by bright seas wandering

by bright seas wandering

2 thoughts on “Flow

  1. This is another masterpiece Steve. The sooner you have your book published and on the shelves the better.

Leave a Reply

